Democrats choose their leaders

Dec 3, 2018

As a member of the House Democratic Caucus, I voted in leadership elections this week on behalf of the people of the Mariana Islands. The Caucus chose:

  • Nancy Pelosi, California, Speaker of the House
  • Steny Hoyer, Maryland, House Majority Leader
  • James Clyburn, South Carolina, House Majority Whip
  • Ben Ray Lujan, New Mexico, Assistant Democratic Leader
  • Hakeem Jeffries, New York, Caucus Chair
  • Katherine Clark, Massachusetts, Caucus Vice-Chair
  • Cheri Bustos, Illinois, Congressional Campaign Committee Chair
  • David Cicilline, Rhode Island, Policy and Communications Committee Chairs
  • Matt Cartwright, Pennsylvania; Debbie Dingell, Michigan; and Ted Lieu, California, Policy and Communications Committee Co-chairs
  • Jamie Raskin, Maryland, Caucus Leadership Representative

The full House of Representatives will vote for Speaker on January 3, when the 116th Congress convenes. The Congressional Hispanic Caucus also this week elected Joaquin Castro of Texas as our new Chairman. Ruben Gallego, Arizona, will be 1st Vice Chair; Nanette Barragan, California, 2nd Vice Chair; and, Adriano Espaillat, New York, Caucus Whip.